This is the "Get Started" page of the "ESOL 054: Environmental Issues" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESOL 054: Environmental Issues  

Use this online guide to find material for your cause and effect paper with an environmental focus.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2011 URL: http://libguides.richlandcollege.edu/ESOL054 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Don't forget

Things you need:

  • Internet access (available at the library)
  • A USB drive to back up your research project
  • Pay-4-Print account (to print or copy on campus)
  • Note cards or another dedicated place to take notes
  • MLA Handbook or MLA example sheets

Read the assignment directions carefully and ask your professor any questions that arise.

Online

This is an online encyclopedia. You may read it from your own computer wherever you are. When you click through the links to the digital book, you will need to enter your student name and I.D. number for access.

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change. S. George Philander, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2008. 1234 pp. 3 vols.

      
     

    Finding a topic idea

    Think about a possible topic. You will need a topic about which you can write a five-paragraph essay; this traditionally includes an introduction, three supporting paragraphs, and a conclusion.

    Your topic should be broad enough to cover five paragraphs but narrow enough that you can manage ideas and relationships about which you write. There are many ways to choose a topic.

    •  Brainstorm by writing words and ideas down and then looking for possible connections.
    • Read a general article (an encyclopedia article or general website may help) and write down key topics that interest you.
    •  Look at the subject terms or topic lists in online databases, such as MAS Ultra or SIRS at http://www.dcccd.edu/databases.

    Possible topics

    Here are a few examples of topics that might work for you. This is just a sample of things to get you started. Don't worry about picking the wrong thing - the brainstorming process is only meant to give you a starting point.

    Writing a paper is a process that often includes changing your mind about your topic or your thesis statement. The brainstorming portion of your process is a chance to explore the various issues and decide what interests you and what you want to introduce to your audience.

    Air pollution | Atmosphere | Climatic change | Conservation | Crops and climate Deforestation | Ecology | Floods | Greenhouse gas | Human ecology | Hurricanes Marine pollution | Natural disasters | Oil spills | Weather

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip