[Deleted]
More Help
Visit these sources for additional help and ideas.
Suggest a Link
Periodical Articles
Now that you have expanded your understanding, it is time to find focused information about your topic. Periodical (magazine, journal, and newspaper) articles often provide this type of information. Just like your paper, periodical articles focus on a specific aspect of a topic. One of the important decisions you’ll make in selecting articles for a research paper is whether a magazine, a newspaper article or a scholarly journal is most appropriate for your purpose.
Scholarly Journals: Articles in scholarly journals are written by scholars in a field for scholars in the same field. Scholarly journals are called also peer-reviewed journals because the articles in peer reviewed journals have undergone careful review for accuracy and quality by scholars. Scholarly journals are appropriate for course work in most college-level courses and are expected in upper-level courses.
Popular Magazines: Magazines are published frequently and contain articles often written by journalists or staff writers for the general public. Popular magazines are appropriate for most first-year courses and some second-year courses.
Newspapers: Usually published daily or weekly, newspapers communicate news, opinions, advertising, and other forms of information. Unless your project is a local issue or event, newspapers are generally not appropriate for college level work.
The tool you'll need to use to locate a scholarly journal article is a library subscription database. The library subscribes to over 150 different databases.
Suggested Databases
Click here to access all databases.
Login with your name (first and last) and student ID number.
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 4,600 scholarly publications and indexing and abstracts for 8,000+ journals. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. - Wilson OmniFile
A multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 2300 publications. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, general sciences, arts and literature, business, and law. - Dallas Morning News
Primary Dallas metro area daily newspaper. The online version includes the complete full-text of local and regional news, community events, schools, politics, government, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and prominent people.
Additional Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints covers current event issues and controversies, providing facts as well as pros and cons. Includes e-books, magazine articles, newpaper articles, multimedia, charts, graphs, and images. - SIRS Knowledge Source
Articles published since the late 80's, with a focus on research topics, current events and issues. Includes opposing viewpoints, charts and images, maps, and topic overviews. Updated daily. - Research Pro
Another way to search many databases at once.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info: Office: L120 Phone: 972-238-6157 Fax: 972-238-6963 Richland College Library 12800 Abrams Rd. Dallas, TX 75243 Send Email |
Your Research Guide |
Include your email address if Amy is offline. Contact Info: Office: Lavaca 114 Phone: 972-238-6082 Fax: 972-238-6963 12800 Abrams Rd. Dallas, TX 75243 Send Email Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Ecology, Health Professions, Nutrition, Physics, Math, Developmental Math |
Subject Guide |
Contact Info: Office: L119 Phone: 972-238-3725 M 1:30 pm - 9:30 pm T,W,T 9:30 am - 5:30 pm F 9:30 am - 4:30 pm Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Your Research Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Humanities 1315 |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Subject Guide |
Contact Info: Richland College Library Phone: 972-238-6081 Fax: 972-238-6963 12800 Abrams Rd. Dallas, TX 75243 Send Email |
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link






