Subject Headings
Search these headings in the NEW Library Catalog:
Be sure to limit your search by format and location
Alienation in Literature
Bohemianism -- United States
Dissenters in Literature
Feature Films
Heroes
Heroes in Literature
Heroes in Motion Pictures
Literature and Society
National Characterisitcs, American, in literature
Radicalism--United States--History
Radicalism in Literature
Short Stories, American
War Stories, American -- History and Criticism
Youth in Motion Pictures
Also do a keyword search on 'rebel*' just to see what interesting things might show up.
Film Sources
Encyclopedia of Film. Ref PN 1993.45 S35
Encyclopedia of Novels into Film. Ref PN 1997.85 T54
Filmography of American History. Ref PN 1995.9 H5 T73
Films by Genre Ref 1998 L63 W45
History in the Media: Film and Media. Ref PN 1995.9 H5 N54
Literary Filmography. Ref PN 1997.85 M87
Multicultural Films. Ref PN 1995.9 M56 W45
Classic Rebel Films / Topics
Databases
- 360 SearchSearches multiple databases all at once. Sometimes requires considerable patience. Sample Search: Rebel without a cause
- Literary Reference Center (Ebscohost)From the opening search screen, tick the box for Short Stories. Then search the appropriate concept: heroes, rebels, war, etc.
- OmniFileIndexes a huge number of periodicals many of which are full text. NOTE: From the search screen choose "short story" limit
Short Stories -- Reference Sources
Short Stories for Students. An online subject encyclopedia of information about classic and contemporary short stories frequently studied in high schools and colleges. For each story there is analysis, literary and historical background, criticism and suggestions for works of fiction on similar themes and topics. See the Subject/Theme index.
Short Story Index. 1950 - 1993 Shelved behind the reference desk.
This volume will allow you to find short stories on a particular theme: Many of the subject headings listed on the left will work. After you identify the short story and the anthology where it can be found, you'll still need to locate the physical book using the library catalog.
Masterplots II: Short Story Series. Rev. ed. Ref PN 3326 M27
Analyses of particular short stories. Use the various back of the book aids to facilitate your search: chronological list of titles, author index, geographical index, type of plot index.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction. 2nd Rev. ed. Ref PN 3321 C7
Analyses of particular short stories. Use the Category Index; Examples: Nihilism, Social Criticism, War, Women's Issues
Reference Guide to Short Fiction. Ref PN 3373 R36
A reference guide to the most significant writers of short fiction from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Short Stories -- Recent General Anthologies
Pow Wow: Charting the Fault Lines in the American Experience: Short Fiction from then to Now. Cambridge: Da Capo, 2009. Main PS647
Fiction 100: An Anthology of Short Fiction. Main PN 6120.2 F5
Best American Short Stories, 2008. Boston: Houghton, 2008. Main PS 648 S B4 2008
Background
Rebels and Renegades: a Chronology of Social and Political Dissent in the United States. New York: Routledge, 2002. Ref HN 90 R3 H354 Brookhaven College.
Radical Reader: A Documentary History of the American Radical Tradition. New York: The New Press, 2003. Ref HN 90 R3 R355
Encyclopedia of Modern American Extremists and Extremist Groups.Westport: Greenwood, 2002. Ref HN 90 R3 A75
American Social Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1993. Ref HN 65 M38
Encyclopedia of American War Literature. Westport: Greenwood, 2001. Ref PS 169 W27 E53
American History Through Literature. Ref PS 217 H57 A843
The Beat Generation. Ref PS 228 B6 Z68
Identities and Issues in Literature. Ref PS 153 M56 I34
Encyclopedia of American Studies. Ref 169.1 E625
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History. Ref 169.1 E624
Best Free Web Sites 2009
Your Research Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Description
Loading content... please wait



